Managing across Lifecycle

The intent of the ITIL® 2011 Managing across the Lifecycle (MALC) qualification is to give candidates skills that can be used in the workplace in a tangible way to support an organization’s service delivery by bridging the service lifecycle stages. The qualification demonstrates that candidates have learned the value of one combined service management practice as opposed to separate subject areas. ITIL® 2011 processes and practices, as learnt from the lifecycle and capability streams of the intermediate certificates, are put into a context of delivering this value.
The learning outcomes are intended to evolve a candidate’s ITIL® content knowledge towards its applied use and integration in a workplace environment. Testing and validation of knowledge take place at Bloom’s taxonomy level 4 (analyzing) and level 5 (evaluating), reflecting the focus on integration compared with the ITIL® 2011 intermediate qualifications.
While MALC encompasses the broadest perspectives of service management skills, for example related to project management and application design, it is not intended to teach these practices, rather to refer to them as contexts for ITIL® application. A high-level understanding of these is still expected.
This qualification focuses on strategizing, planning, using and measuring ITIL® practices in an integrated functioning model:
How the service lifecycle stages form an integrated whole

  • Process integration and interfaces
  • Shared data / information / knowledge

Difference Between ITIL® 2011 Expert and Intermediate Modules

MALC is the final mandatory qualification leading to ITIL® 2011 Expert certification. It is at a higher level than the capability and lifecycle modules. However feedback indicated this has not been clearly and consistently recognized due to MALC in the past having the title of ‘intermediate’ qualification and having a similar structure to the capability and lifecycle examinations.
The review feedback indicated that it was important to differentiate MALC from the capability and lifecycle modules (the intermediate qualifications), and that this difference should be clearly visible.
For this reason the MALC qualification is no longer to be termed an ‘intermediate’ qualification. It will simply be called ‘ITIL® 2011 Managing across the Lifecycle’. The word ‘intermediate’ should not be used in association with MALC in future.
The difference between MALC and the intermediate qualifications should be clearly marketed and publicized. It should be emphasized that:

  • MALC has a higher level of difficulty,
  • MALC is a higher level than Foundation and Intermediate,
  • MALC focuses across the service lifecycle, and
  • MALC delivers a prestigious qualification in ITIL® 2011 Expert.

Benefits of ITIL®

  • Ranked by importance or frequency
  • Customer satisfaction
  • Cost control
  • Faster response and resolution
  • Standardization of service
  • Improved process
  • Clear roles and responsibilities
  • IT workload improvements/efficiency
  • Reduction of downtime
  • Transparency
  • Business-IT alignment/relationship
  • Management of risk
  • Focus on IT service
  • Service quality
  • Reduce failed changes
  • Deliver business objectives
  • Benefited from best practice experience of Others
  • Retain customers
  • Faster recovery after disaster
  • Monitoring IT performance
  • Professional standard
  • Return on investment
  • Releases on schedule
  • Increased ability to adopt innovations
  • Competitiveness
  • Measure demand
  • Project success

Course Details


2 Days, 16 hours training includes the optional multiple choice exam


  • ITIL® 2011 Foundation certificate
  • ITIL® 2011 Intermediate Capability or Lifecycle Module
  • Preferably about two years work experience in an IT service management environment
  • Attended Training from an Registered ATO like QMS Academy


The Exam duration is 2 hours and 10 questions.
The pass mark for the examination will be 35 out of 50 (70%).
This course prepares the participant for the official ITIL® 2011 Managing Across Lifecycle exam (optional). Participants who wish to take the exam are prepared through a practice exam and instructor feedback. The exam is a complex multiple choice, multi-part, scenario based test. Students who pass the exam will receive the ITIL® 2011 Managing Across Lifecycle Certificate in IT Service Management